Chora's Den
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Limbic system

2 posters

Go down

Limbic system Empty Re: Limbic system

Post by smash016 Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:40 am

Credit where credit is due, he does know what he's talking about.

Still I feel his ideas are far from perfect or complete, taken as a real-life, scientific account. He's filling in lots of blanks, something we get criticized for. And I'm not really seeing his point.

Well, check the topic if you want to know everything.
smash016
smash016
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by smash016 Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:03 am

Trust me, I know what I'm talking about. Yes, I have a degree in psychology and what we are discussing has been treated comprehensively in my classes. What both BW and Spotlessvoid are saying about it, is perfectly fine for a sci-fi universe, but nothing more. It's a super-simplified version of reality.

Concerning Shepard -- what Spotless is suggesting is that an extremely fundamental brain function is manipulated by the Reapers. Something that cannot be overridden by a more or less dominant limbic system, because individual variance is never that large. In other words, Shepard would need a brain that differs hugely from a normal, healthy human brain. Which for all we know, could be Shepard's supposed engineered anomaly -- but that's not what Spotless is thinking about, obviously.

Also, the game just mentions the limbic system in the Codex. Everything else about it is tacked on by Spotless.

Neurologically speaking, there's so many things wrong with what he's saying I won't list it all. But as one example -- if Reapers reinforce certain higher thoughts by the extremely timely release of neurotransmitters (chemicals), they first have to know what we're thinking at the exact same time, right? So how are they reading our minds? Higher thought certainly does not occur in the limbic system.